County Recorders

    VC55 Leicestershire and Rutland County Recorders

    Watsonian Vice-county 55 (VC55) is the name of the accepted area for recording wildlife in Leicestershire and Rutland. It roughly follows the current political boundaries of the two counties but isn't exactly the same as over the years these have been modified. Having a standard area where the boundaries never change allows current wildlife records to be compared with those from many years ago.

    The coordination and overseeing of the records for each wildlife group is the responsibility of a County Recorder or County Co-ordinator. These are volunteers with expert knowledge of that group. All NatureSpot records are shared with the County Recorders/Coordinators and they check the accuracy of the data before adding it to database of all records. Most are happy to help with ID queries.

    Information supplied by Leicestershire & Rutland Environmental Records Centre (LRERC)

    Taxon Group Name Status Email
    Algae Geoffrey Hall Co-ordinator geoffrey.hall@ntlworld.com
    Amphibians Ben Devine Recorder BDevine@lrwt.org.uk
    Badgers Pam Mynott Recorder pamela.mynott@btinternet.com
    Bats Nathalie Cossa Recorder batrecords@outlook.com
    Birds Carl Baggott Recorder cdbaggott@gmail.com
    Bugs - Hemiptera Dave Budworth Recorder dbud01@aol.com
    Centipedes Helen Ikin Co-ordinator helen.canids@btinternet.com
    Coleoptera Graham Finch Co-ordinator finchgraham1@gmail.com
    Crayfish Jools Partridge Recorder jools.partridge@leics.gov.uk
    Diptera: Craneflies and allies John Kramer Recorder john.kramer@btinternet.com
    Diptera: Hoverflies, Soldierflies, Dolichopodidae
    (Long-legged flies), Conopidae
    Ray Morris Recorder ray@cactusbob.net
    Diptera: Stilt and Stalk flies Darwyn Sumner Recorder darwyn.sumner@ntlworld.com
    Dragonflies & Damselflies - Odonata Ian Merrill Recorder i.merrill@btopenworld.com
    Fishes Andrew Heaton Recorder aheaton@ntlworld.com
    Flowering plants and ferns Geoffrey Hall/Russell Parry/Steve Woodward Joint Recorders geoffrey.hall@ntlworld.com / russell.parry@gmail.com / grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Fungi Tom Hering Recorder tfhering@btinternet.com
    Galls Maggie Frankum Co-ordinator maggiefrankum@uwclub.net
    Grasshoppers & Crickets - Orthoptera Helen Ikin (Leics) and Phil Rudkin (Rutland) Joint Recorders helen.canids@btinternet.com / phil.rudkin@talktalk.net
    Harvestmen Ray Morris Co-ordinator ray@cactusbob.net
    Hymenoptera: Bees, Wasps, Ants
    (excl Parasitica - Ichneumon, etc)
    Helen Ikin Co-ordinator helen.canids@btinternet.com
    Hymenoptera: Sawflies David Nicholls Co-ordinator dnicholls@naturespot.org.uk
    Isopoda Helen Ikin Co-ordinator helen.canids@btinternet.com
    Lepidoptera: Butterflies Richard Jeffery Recorder winrich168@btinternet.com
    Lepidoptera: Moths Adrian Russell Recorder adrian@wainscot.demon.co.uk
    Lichens Anthony Fletcher Recorder a.fletcherfletcher@btinternet.com
    Mammals (excl. bats and badgers) Helen O'Brien Recorder helen.Obrien@leicester.gov.uk
    Mayflies - Ephemeroptera Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Mecoptera (Scorpionflies) Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Megaloptera (Alderflies) Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Millipedes Helen Ikin Co-ordinator helen.canids@btinternet.com
    Mites and ticks Ivan Pedley Co-ordinator ivan.pedley@gmail.com
    Mollusca David Nicholls Co-ordinator dnicholls@naturespot.org.uk
    Mosses and Liverworts - Bryophytes Uta Hamzaoui Recorder uta.hamzaoui@yahoo.de
    Neuroptera (Lacewings) Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Pseudoscorpions Ed Darby Co-ordinator lboro.ecols@ntlworld.com
    Psocoptera (Barklice and Booklice) Helen Ikin Co-ordinator helen.canids@btinternet.com
    Raphidoptera (Snakeflies) Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Reptiles Ben Devine Recorder BDevine@lrwt.org.uk
    Siphonaptera (Fleas) Frank Clark Recorder ClrFlea@aol.com
    Spiders Paul Palmer Co-ordinator palmerpjp@gmail.com
    Springtails - Collembola Alan Cann Co-ordinator alan.cann@gmail.com
    Stoneflies - Plecoptera Steve Woodward Co-ordinator grobysteve@talktalk.net
    Sucking and biting lice - Phthiraptera Frank Clark Recorder ClrFlea@aol.com
    Thrips - Thysanoptera Ivan Pedley Co-ordinator ivan.pedley@gmail.com
    Trichoptera (Caddisflies) Ray Morris Co-ordinator ray@cactusbob.net